letters to myself: age 5

Dear toddler me,

School is really fun, right? All of this knowledge, so little time to absorb it all. And all of these other kids, so little time to interact with them all. I know it’s only kindergarten, but you feel some sort of natural desire to be the “pack leader”: another thing about you that will come to define your precocious childhood nature, but never feel sorry for being different that way. Not all the other kids are going to like you, but remember this: you don’t need everyone to love you, just a few good people.

This is where you’ll discover that learning genuinely makes you happy. Part of it is coming up top among all the other kids (you can’t hide that from me, because, 18 years later, I still think the same way), but the rest of it is a drive of deep, pure fascination with the world, and a corresponding need to know everything about it. Dad and Mom will look on with pride as you pore over your little assignments and books, and I’d bet anything that they’re so excited for how their little genius is going to conquer life’s greatest challenges with a smile and pencil in hand. Of course, kindergarten isn’t going to be a COMPLETE walk in the park… there will be that time where you get a “C” for social intelligence on your mini report card (for the life of me, I can’t recall exactly why, but I do have a pretty good idea) and you’ll be really upset about it, but there are definitely more good days than bad. Just keep loving what you do, and never lose the wonder in your eyes.

Till next time,

❤ Grace

Leave a comment